Otago’s Water Plan is being reviewed by ORC. We are taking a staged approach to the review based on 'mountains-to-sea' catchment areas called Freshwater Management Units (FMUs). In Otago we have set five FMUs: Clutha/Mata-Au, Taieri, North Otago, Dunedin Coastal and Catlins.




The Taieri FMU spans almost 6,000 square kilometres of urban and rural land and is home to more than 3,000 people.

As we go through this new FMU process, there may be some rules set for the Taieri FMU that differ from other areas. This will be done in consultation with the local community to ensure that waterway management reflects local values and objectives.




Information and resources

Sign-up for our monthly newsletter On-Stream. Read previous editions here.


Catchment groups

Name: Geoff Crutchley or Joanne Paterson
Email: gcrutch2883@gmail.com or joannemax.paterson@gmail.com

Consultation - have your say

There is currently no consultation in your area.

ORC key contacts

Name: Nicole Foote
Phone number: 0800 474 082
Email: rural@orc.govt.nz
Role: Rural Liaison and Support Advisor
Organisation: Otago Regional Council

ORC Pollution Hotline

If you observe pollution to water, air or land anywhere in Otago, please call the Pollution Hotline - it's 24/7.

Phone: 0800 800 033