Otago’s Water Plan is being reviewed by ORC. We are taking a staged approach to the review based on 'mountains-to-sea' catchment areas called Freshwater Management Units (FMUs). In Otago we have set five FMUs: Clutha/Mata-Au, Taieri, North Otago, Dunedin Coastal and Catlins.





The North Otago FMU covers the expanse of the Shag, Waikouaiti and Kakanui rivers. It spans over 3,000 square kilometres of urban and rural land and is home to more than 17,000 people. 

As we go through this new FMU process, there may be some rules set for the North Otago FMU that differ from other areas. This will be done in consultation with the local community to ensure that waterway management reflects local values and objectives.




Information and resources

We carry out monthly water quality testing as part of our State of the Environment (SOE) testing. Please note that SOE reports are based on five years of data. Read the SOE reports for:

Read more about water quality at the Land, Air, Water Aotearoa (LAWA) website links below, including the "Can I swim here?" section which is updated weekly in summer months.

Catchment groups

Website: https://www.noslam.nz

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/noslamnz/

Email: noslamoffice@gmail.com

Phone: (021) 194 9597

ORC Pollution Hotline

If you observe pollution to water, air or land anywhere in Otago, please call the Pollution Hotline - it's 24/7.

Phone: 0800 800 033