Otago’s Water Plan is being reviewed by ORC. We are taking a staged approach to the review based on 'mountains-to-sea' catchment areas called Freshwater Management Units (FMUs). In Otago we have set five FMUs: Clutha/Mata-Au, Taieri, North Otago, Dunedin Coastal and Catlins.




Our southern-most rohe, the Catlins Rohe, has scenic coastal landscapes and dense temperate rainforest, making it a popular tourist destination. It has a population of approximately 1,200 people, many of who live in the main settlement of Owaka.   

As we go through this new FMU process, there may be some rules set for the Catlins Rohe that differ from other areas. This will be done in consultation with the local community to ensure that waterway management reflects local values and objectives.

Information and resources

Find rainfall, river flows and levels, and water quality data (where available) at monitoring sites around Otago. Find Otago-wide information here, or click below for sites near you.  

Sign-up for our monthly newsletter On-Stream. Read previous editions here.


Catchment groups

Name: Lloyd McCall
Phone number: 027 248 9090
Email: lloyd@m90fs.co.nz
Role: Project Manager
Organisation: Otago South River Care
Website: https://www.cluthanz.com/otago-south-river-care/about-us/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OtagoSouthRiverCare/

Consultation - have your say

There is currently no consultation in your area.

ORC key contacts

Name: Rebecca Begg
Phone number: 0800 474 082
Email: rural@orc.govt.nz
Role: Team Leader Rural Liaison and Support
Organisation: Otago Regional Council

ORC Pollution Hotline

If you observe pollution to water, air or land anywhere in Otago, please call the Pollution Hotline - it's 24/7.

Phone: 0800 800 033